Aside

Happy International Womans’ Day

Here’s to all the courageous women throughout the world who stand up for gender equality. Hopefully, one day we will live in a world where everyone is treated equal, free from oppression. “Nevertheless, she persisted.”

Also, RIP, Carrie Fisher. I can’t use a photo of you without saying it. Your role as Princess Leia inspired me. She taught me that princesses could be strong, that princesses could be leaders, and that princesses can kick ass. She taught me that none of those things meant that I was any less of a woman for doing them. The way people of all kinds answered to Leia without commenting on the fact that she was a woman, like it didn’t occur to them and didn’t matter, is amazing to me. In a world of sleeping curses and glass slippers, here was a princess who was a diplomat, who was a spy for the Rebellion, who talked back to Darth Vader and Tarkin, who withstood torture, who watched her planet and her family be destroyed, and who took charge of her own rescue when the boys couldn’t do it right. Here was a princess who helped lead an army. In short, here was a strong woman whose gender was never made to be a barrier to doing what she wanted and needed to. You inspired me, and so many others around the world, and you will continue to.

 

Leave a comment